Buffalo Storm

The Buffalo Storm were a professional soccer team who competed for only one season in the United Soccer League (USL).

For the 1984 Buffalo Storm campaign they were placed in the Northern Division along with the New York Nationals and the Rochester Flash. Francisco Escos was named Head Coach.

The 1984 roster included:
Goalkeepers – Peter Grillo, Otto Orf, Wieslaw Surlit
Defenders – Mike Corney, Dennis Mepham, Oscar Pisano, Chuck Schumpf
Midfielders – Ernie Buriano, Mike Garrett, Neils Gulbjerg, Pat Occhiuto, Mark Sansona, Karl Tausch
Forwards – Herve Guilliod, Randy Pikuzinski, Rudy Pikuzinski, Carlos Salguero
Most of the players played indoors with the MISL (Major indoor Soccer League) Buffalo Stallions.

After the regular season they topped the standings, with 11 wins and 13 loses from 24 games. They scored 48 goals and conceded 41. Topping the league put them straight into the USL semi-finals where they met the Fort Lauderdale Sun. They lost their first two matches 3-0 and 5-1, thus eliminating them.

Carlos Salguero was their highest goal scorer with 11 goals.

After this season they folded.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s